Complete List of Databases (A-Z)
Below are “databases” and online services that our library subscribes to. They contain loads of information not necessarily found through the Internet. You’ll need your library card to log into most of these databases and online services.
Acorn TV – Watch world-class mysteries, dramas, and comedies from Britain and beyond, through this streaming video service, on any web-connected device.
Auto Repair Source – Features content from the original equipment manufacturers including step-by-step repair procedures with supporting images, maintenance schedules, estimated labor times, technical service bulletins, specifications and diagnostic trouble codes so users can accurately diagnose, repair and maintain their vehicle. Millions of high-quality images can be magnified and printed. Images include component location diagrams and comprehensive wiring diagrams. Auto Repair Source is also optimized for touch screen devices.
Ancestry Library Edition – (In-Library use only) – provides genealogical and historical research capabilities. With more than 5 billion names in over 4,600 databases, includes census, military, court, land, and probate records; vital and church records; directories; and passenger lists.
BC Laws – Free public access to the Statutes & Regulations of B.C.
British Columbia Codes (In-Library use only) – Includes the current BC Building Code (including Plumbing Services) and the BC Fire Code.
British Columbia Historical Newspapers – Part of UBC’s digital collection, the British Columbia Historical Newspapers Collection makes 24 of B.C.’s earliest newspapers freely available in digital format for the first time. Search and view B.C. community newspapers published from 1865 to 1924. Included are three Nelson newspapers: Nelson Economist, Miner and Tribune.
British Columbia Statistics – Statistics on population, business, the economy, labour and society. From BCStats, the central statistical agency of the Province of British Columbia. Access 2006 Census full (31 page) profiles or any item with a “key” icon beside it is available here. (Note: Remote access is permitted if your library can provide authentication.)
Business Source Premier [EBSCO] – Includes more than 2,000 business journals covering topics such as marketing, management, accounting and finance, as well as information about specific trades, industries and professions. Additional content includes market research reports, industry reports, country reports, company profiles and SWOT (Strengths, Weaknesses, Opportunities, and Threats) analyses. Video Tutorial [4:40 minutes]
Business Plan Handbooks – A compilation of business plans developed by small businesses throughout North America. Access is made possible by the Small Business Accelerator at the Irving K. Barber Learning Centre at UBC with financial support from the Sutherland Foundation.
Canadian Encyclopedia – A comprehensive information source about Canada and Canadians, for students, the general public and scholars. Includes articles written by experts, as well as web links and multimedia clips. No library card is required to access these resources on the Internet.
Clicklaw – An Internet subject guide to authoritative legal resources in BC and Canada. Developed by the Legal Services Society of BC and now maintained by the BC Courthouse Library Society. No library card is required to access this resource on the Internet.
Consumer Health Complete [EBSCO] – Health information for the general public, patients and health professionals. Includes mainstream medical information and holistic/alternative health information from popular and professional magazines, journals, reference books and reports. Also includes the Lexi-PAL Drug Guide, with up-to-date information on medications, natural products and vaccines available in the U.S. Video Tutorial [5 minuntes]
EBSCOhost periodicals – Search the content of more than 10,000 popular and academic magazines, reference books, plus images, covering all subject areas, from current events and history to the arts and sciences. Many Canadian titles are included. Narrow results by date, subject, publication, etc. Video Tutorial [2:25 minutes]
Edmark Learning Software (LearnNowBC) – LearnNowBC is a single point of entry to distributed learning in British Columbia through the use of Edmark Learning Software.
Explora Canada – Information for students of all ages on a wide variety of topics, from history and current events to science and technology. Search a variety of sources such as magazines, encyclopedias, primary source documents and more.
Explora Primary Schools – A research interface for K-5. Simple search that quickly delivers relevant results including articles, essays, and primary source documents to help students feel successful in their research. Easy-to-browse categories organized by popular topic to give students research ideas. Topic overviews that provide students with a starting point for research.
The Express Newspaper – A Nelson community newspaper since 1988, The Express is archived online through archive.org.
Gale Courses – Offers a wide range of highly interactive, instructor led courses that you can take entirely online. As a library card holder in good standing, you are entitled to these courses at no cost. Courses run for six weeks and new sessions begin every month.
Grant Connect – (In-Library use only) – An online database containing updated information on over 2,200 Canadian grant-making foundations and over 150 American foundations with a history of granting in Canada.
IndieFlix – Watch award-winning shorts, features, and documentaries from more than 50 countries. Streaming movies available on all Internet-enabled computers, tablets (including iPad and Android), smart phones through the Web browser, and on Roku and Xbox.
Khan Academy – “Learn almost anything for free.” 3300 videos explain many subjects.
KnowBC Online – (In-Library use only) – Includes the following resources:
- Encyclopedia of British Columbia – With more than 4,000 entries and 1,500 accompanying photographs, maps, charts and tables, as well as sound and video clips.
- Marine Life of the Pacific Northwest – A Photographic Encyclopedia of Invertebrates, Seaweeds and Selected Fishes.
- The Encyclopedia of Raincoast Place Names – A Complete Reference to Coastal British Columbia
- Far West – The Story of British Columbia
- Raincoast Chronicles 20 – Lilies and Fireweed: Frontier Women of British Columbia.
- Where Mountains Meet the Sea – A History of Coastal BC
Library To Go – Download and listen to best selling and classic audio books 24/7 on your PC, laptop, PDA or MP3 player at home, in the office or anywhere in the world. It’s free, all you need is your library card.
NoveList Plus [EBSCO] – Looking for a good novel? Want to find book reviews? Desperate to find other authors that are similar to your favourite? Check out NoveList, a database of fiction books and authors, recommended reading lists, book discussion ideas and book reviews for all ages.
NoveList K-8 – Kids – Looking for a book in a series? An author who writes books similar to those by your favourite author? Or are you just looking for a book on a particular topic? This online resource can help you! There are over 46,000 books listed in this resource and you can find the ones that interest you by author, title, series or subject. Each listing also includes descriptions and reviews.
Points to the Past – Searchable primary source material: maps, photos, newspapers, manuscripts, pamphlets, portraits, sermons, poems, and more. For research, teaching and learning.
Pronunciator – Pronunciator is a fun and free way to learn any of 80 languages with self-directed lessons, live teachers, movies, music, and more.
PubMed Central Canada – A free digital archive of full-text, peer-reviewed health and life sciences literature based on PubMed Central, the archive developed by the US National Library of Medicine.
RBdigital Audiobooks – A collection of more than 4,000 downloadable audiobooks from Recorded Books, including 100 Canadian titles from Maple Leaf Audio. These audiobooks are all simultaneous use, with no holds or waitlists. Download titles to your home computer, or to a mobile device using the RBdigital app.
RBdigital Magazines – Online magazines that you can download for free and read on your computer, tablet or smartphone.
Small Engine Repair Reference Center – Clymer manuals containing thousands of maintenance and repair instructions for hundreds of small engine machines. Routine maintenance and more extensive repairs for motorcycles, ATVs, personal water craft, snowmobiles, lawn mowers, tractors, snow blowers, generators, and more are covered. Video Tutorial [3 minutes]
Vehicle Safety and Inspection Standards Online – (In-Library use only) Current vehicle safety and inspection standards and related BC legislation.